Step-by-Step Instructions: Enabling and Using Version Control
Need to work on documents with someone who's in another location, or even another city? Cloud collaboration is one of the fastest, most convenient ways to work with another individual or team, even when that team is spread out. To help streamline the cooperative process, FilesAnywhere offers Version Control as built-in features perfect for multi-user editing.
This group of version control features includes checkin/checkout, version history, disable delete, and email notifications. Keep in mind that if you normally use WebDAV to access your files, you'll need to login to the FilesAnywhere web interface to use Version Control features. You might also be interested in:
Let's Get Started:
1. Login to your account.
2. Select the folder you want to add version control to, right click, highlight Properties, and then select Advanced Properties.
3. When the Folder Properties screen displays, click the File Tracking tab. Here you can enable the Version Control Features, below.
File Tracking Section
File History Logging Check Box- When enabled, file history logging allows you to keep the number of versions you designate in the Keep dropdown menu. Options are 0-10 and All. You can view file version in the File History Log by clicking the View File History Log button in this screen. With options other than 0, the files will be stored in a system folder within your account called VersionHistory.
Checkin/Checkout Check Box- When enabled, Checkin/Checkout requires other users to "check out" a file to view, edit, or collaborate. This locks the file from being downloaded by another user at the same time. Once a user has completed viewing, editing, or collaborating on a document, it must then be "checked in" to upload it to the account. The Undo Checkouts button allows the account owner to remove the Checkout status of files, unlocking them for other users to download. The View Checkout Log button takes you to the File History Log that lists the details of files checked into and out of the designated folders.
Disable Delete Check Box- When enabled, the Disable Delete feature stops any other user from deleting files from the account. Even subaccounts with full access to the designated folder cannot delete files once enabled.
Important Information About Version Control
- Because Version Control keeps multiple file versions within your account, additional storage is used to retain each version.
- Enabling Version Control for the parent folder causes all subfolders to inherit those settings.
- When enabling Version Control, no files are changed.
- You may change or remove Version Control settings at any time.
- When using the File LifeCycle rules, a copy of the deleted files will be retained within the VersionHistory system folder.
Still Have Questions?