Follow

New Look: Lifecycle

Need a way to do a little spring cleaning inside your FilesAnywhere account?  No problem!  With this feature, you can automate the deletion of older files and folders.  With the File Lifecycle feature, you can set rules regarding the expiration and automatic deletion of files and sub-folders by designating a retention period.

Table of Contents

How to Access Lifecycle Rules

1. Log into your FilesAnywhere Account.

2. Navigate to the hamburger menu on the upper right. 

3. Select Tools

4. Then Navigate to File Retention

 

Alternatively, you can access File Retention by doing the following.

After logging into your FilesAnywhere account.

1. Right-click the folder for which you wish to define a LifeCycle rule.

2. Highlight More

3. Select Properties

4. Navigate to the File Retention tab

Back to Top

 

Adding a LifeCycle Rule

1. Click on Add Lifecycle Rule

Caution: Files and folders that are managed by Lifecycle rules will be permanently deleted.

 

1. Rule- This tab contains the settings for making a Lifecycle rule.

2. Notifications- This tab lets you set who is informed of Lifecycle changes and warnings.

3. Rule Name- Allows you to customize the name of this rule so it is easy to remember.

4. Include File Names and Extensions- The file types are set for deletion. (For example: .doc,. pdf, .jpg ect)

5. Delete Options- This is how long you want to keep the files/sub-folders in question.

6. Delete Empty Subfolders- This will delete all empty subfolders within the selected folder. If you wish to keep empty subfolders, leave this unchecked.

7. Enable this Rule- Leave this checked if you want the rule enabled. Otherwise, you can disable it by unchecking this option.

Back to Top

  • Note: Please be aware that the actual purge date for files will follow this formula: After Start Date + Delete Contents # of Days.  From that point, the rule will run weekly to purge data equal to the Delete Contents # of Days.
  • NOTE: Days are also calculated based on the Updated Date.  Updated Dates are only changed when a file is uploaded or edited.  Move and Copy functions do not change this.

 

Notifications

1. Rule- This tab contains the settings for making a Lifecycle rule.

2. Notification- This tab lets you set who is informed of Lifecycle changes and warnings.

3. Send Warning Notifications- Set a time frame for reminding the selected recipients that files will be deleted.

4. Standard Recipients- The folder owner and any GroupShare users set to receive notifications

5. Additional Recipients- You can send notification emails to other specified email addresses.

6. Enable this Rule- Leave this checked if you want the rule enabled. Otherwise, you can disable it by unchecking this option.

7. Remember my Choices- Remembers the settings for future Lifecyle rules.

8. Save- Applies the current setting and sets the Lifecycle rules.

Back to Top

 

Note: When a File Lifecycle Rule purges data from your account, all versions associated with that data will also be deleted!

 

Still, Have Questions?

If you need help or have additional questions, please contact us.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Article is closed for comments.
Powered by Zendesk